Author Topic: Central Province swimming on March 18  (Read 1509 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cleo.

  • The QueEn oF KiNgS --;--;--<@
  • ෆැන්ටසි රාළ FNLeader
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Gender: Female
  • Aadaraya,, ---->> E Mage Aagamai
    • හද බිඳි සර..
Central Province swimming on March 18
« on: February 28, 2006, 07:46:16 AM »
The second annual Central Province Novice and Age Group Swimming Championship 2006 organised by the Central Province Aquatic Sports Association (CEPASA) will be worked off at the Peradeniya University swimming pool at Peradeniya on Saturday March 18, commencing at 8 a.m.

Janaka de Silva, Vice President of the CEPASA said that last year's inaugural meet was a success with over 300 swimmers from the Central Province participating. This year they expect an even larger participation from Trinity College, Mahamaya Girls College.

Both schools are the local champions and are in topping form at present. Other schools competing are Hillwood College, Kingswood College, Dharmaraja College, Gateway College, Kandy, Colombo International School, Kandy branch, Ecole International School, St. Anthony's College, Gangasiri MV, Gampola, Dambulla Central College, and a few schools from Matale. Entries have been pouring and they expect the participants to touch the 400 mark or more.

The defending champions in the Novices and Age Group championships are Trinity College (boys) and Mahamaya Girls College (girls) as they virtually swept the board at the inaugural meet last year. But the other schools have shown improvement and are expected to give a good fight and make their presence felt.

The winners will be awarded trophies, medals and certificates and special certificates will be awarded to all participants who clock the qualifying times set by the organisers.

Entries close with the Central Province Aquatic Sports Association Office at 18/1, Hill Street, Kandy.

Some of the top swimmers who are expected to participate at the meet are: Boys - Cheitya Wijeratne, Heshan Unamboowe, Lashan Senaratne, Migara Hulangamuwa, Imalka Athurupana, Shehan de Silva all from Trinity College who had won their respective events at the national junior championships with most of them setting up records at various meets.

Among the girls who are expected to shine are rising star Mihiri Kandenarachchi, Sunethra Wijeratne, Madhavi Weeratunga, Hansani Weeratunga, Heshani Unamboowe, Udari Mendis, Dilini Sun, Shalika Wimalanatha, Dinali Sun, (from Mahamaya Girls College), Minuruwani Samarakoon, Erudini Smitz (Kandy Gateway College), Chemart Kudabalage, Harshani Dissanayake, Ruvini Gunawardena (from Hillwood College).

The entry fees per event will be Rs. 75 and each swimmer can enter and participate only in three events. A total of 95 events are to be worked off including relays.